A triple IPA is a terrible thing to waste. So when I dragged myself into Green Lake’s Latona Pub after a hard hour of hot yoga (because apparently that is something I do now), I was pleased to see that Washington’s IIIPA week hadn’t yet faded from Seattle-area bars.

Latona is a Green Lake tradition stretching back into the dark ages of craft beer. They’ve been serving suds for 30 years, and keep a quickly-rotating list of excellent beers on year-round. Hearty and healthy food will set you back, but won’t disappoint.

The cozy, eclectically-decorated pub has a cast of grizzled neighborhood regulars and maybe a bit standoffish staff, but it is warm and the massive windows offer a nice view of the dreary weather while you enjoy your pint.

In this case, Reuben’s Brews “Blimey That’s Bitter!” seemed a likely candidate to restore my sense of dignity that my misaligned chakras could not.

The beer checks in with a 10.5% ABV and 100 IBUs, but – in my humble opinion – hid both quite well.

It might just be the dehydration talking here, but I believe the beer’s name is a bit of a misnomer. It’s certainly more bitter than a pale ale or less bitter IPAs, but the alcohol does not come across hot nor do the hops wallop you.

It’s semi-tropical, with melon and citrus making themselves known in the taste. The aroma comes off bitter with a distinct caramel-malty sweetness. A thick white head that slowly dissipates sits atop a coppery, opaque body. Thick mouthfeel.

I swear that Reuben’s Crikey IPA seems more bitter in comparison.

All-in-all, this was an excellent choice after sweating out approximately half my body weight, and one of the better IIIPAs I’ve had in the last several months.

Verdict: Go ahead and try this beer, just don’t be surprised if it’s not the hop-bomb you’re looking for. 78/100

blimey.jpg
Reuben’s Blimey That’s Bitter! is a bit of a misnomer.
