What’s there to say about this beer that hasn’t been said a million times?

How about cantaloupe, Fauntleroy, wanker, archipelago. That’s probably the first time those words have been used in conjunction with The Alchemist’s Heady Topper.

This beer inspired New England-style IPAs, that Johnny-drink-lately style of juicy, thick nectary beers that I both deride and can’t get enough of at the same time. The Vermont staple became a bit of a novelty after a pub forced the shuttering of the brewpub. Just a few days later, Heady Topper was available again, but only in cans.

“DRINK FROM THE CAN” is still proudly emblazoned on top, and the brewery’s website claims that it is “specially designed” to be best from the can. So when I tried it for the first time, at the excellent San Diego beer bar Hamilton’s Tavern, that’s what I did.

And because I am a man of science, I also tried it poured into a glass.

It’s just a good beer, ok? Don’t be weird about it. Drink what you like the way you like it. It’s dank and refreshing, melony and citrusy.

Rating: I’d drink this beer in a can and with a fan, I’d drink this beer on a catamaran.